Marathons are a test of endurance, too

Endurance-Marathon-TrainingI have thought of myself as a runner for many years. I do long runs, hill workouts and sprints to improve my time, and I am religious in my running schedule though I’m not a competitive runner. Running helps control my weight, makes me feel strong and, most important, boosts my confidence.

I am training for my first marathon in March, which I set as a goal to reach before turning 60 in two years. Imagine my surprise when I read that, according to Brian Danza, president of D.C. Road Runners [“City of the long run,” Style, Oct. 25], my goal “isn’t worth the effort” since I just want to finish the race within the 5.5-hour time limit. I run for my health and am disheartened that a group of runners, with Mr. Danza as its leader, would disparage would-be marathoners and discount their valid reasons for running a race.

Please check our Blog for the latest news about Running, Health and Nutrition information. Get in touch with us, gives us your comments we would love to hear from you, contact Us at u-VIB

Check out our other Social Media sites:

FACEBOOK   |   TWITTER   |   PINTEREST   |   INSTAGRAM  |   VIMEO  |   UTUBE

363_30245662730_928_n

Rachel C. , PhD Research Scientist Consultant @ U-VIB PhD,
Doctor of Philosophy in Counseling NREMT-P (National Registry of Paramedics)

– 911 Medic for over 15 years
– Scientist for over 7 years
– Runner for LIFE

contact Us at u-VIB

source: WP

Categories: Runners, Sports

Tags: , , , ,

1 reply

  1. Isn’t worth the effort? Give me a break. . . I think you can decide that one for yourself!

Leave a Reply

